Market Focus 2020 – deadline extended!

Now in its fifteenth successful year, the ECOC Market Focus has grown to become one of the focal points of the show and a popular platform to gain industry knowledge and insight into the latest technologies available.

Transportation sensing and 5G will be among the latest trends discussed at this year’s Market Focus. It will also be possible to follow the discussions on pluggable versus copackaging and hear what will follow 400G.

We are looking forward to continuing the success of Market Focus in 2020 and we are delighted to welcome back the industry experts who make up the ECOC Advisory Committee.

The deadline for entries has now been extended until 30th September and we are now accepting virutal/pre-recorded presentations.

Market Focus 2020: Call for Speakers – deadline extended to 30th September

If you are interested in speaking at the ECOC Market Focus please email by Wednesday 30th September 2020 stating
your company name, position, topic of interest and a 100 word summary of your presentation theme with a title based on one of the topics as detailed in the Call for Speakers flyer.

All proposals will be reviewed by the Committee before the final presentations are chosen.

Deadline for submissions: 30th September 2020

Download the 2020 Market Focus call for speakers

Hear from Market Focus Committee Chairman Michael Lebby, as he shares his views on Market Focus this year, as well as his tips for submitting a successful proposal


  • "Market Focus sessions were very informative and on the edge .... the best attended part of the show in my eyes and one that got a lot of discussion afterwards"

    Exhibition Visitor

ECOC Exhibition Market Focus Advisory Committee

We are delighted to welcome back the industry experts who make up the ECOC Advisory Committee. The Committee is the decision-making force behind the presentation selection process and includes representatives from across the optical communications space – telecom operators, system vendors and component manufacturers to industry analyst groups and independent industry bodies.

The experienced Committee includes: Pierpaolo Ghiggino of NIS Ltd, Wladek Forysiak of Aston University, Stephan Neidlinger from ADVA Optical Networking, Michael Lebby from Lightwave Logic, Daryl Inniss from OFS, Glenn Wellbrock from Verizon, Frank Chang from Source Photonics and  industry expert Bimal Nayar, from Network Rail.


Per Danielsen (1955 – 2019)
Committee Chairman

We sadly lost an exceptional person and great friend. Per has been the main driver behind this very forum; an idea that grew from humble beginnings in 2006 to what is now one of the most exciting market meeting of the Industry and a key feature of one of the most important Optical Technology Conferences and Exhibitions in the world. Market Focus exists thanks to his vision, technological competence, dedication and drive. He will be greatly missed.

Highlights from Market Focus 2019

Market Focus Presentations 2019

Some of the excellent presentations from across the three days of the event are now available to download.

Please note: not all presentations will be available due to author permissions. We are awaiting approval to publish some of the remaining presentations, so if there are any specific sessions you are waiting for please do contact the Marketing Team and we will endeavor to obtain these as soon as we can.

Download the Market Focus presentations